Thread: Frame size

mtbr member

Frame size

First off, here is some info on me. I have been riding seriously for 12 to 14 months. I raced last season but only in 5 races. I had a 1st, 2nd and a 3rd. I'm getting more serious about racing this year. I plan to move to Cat 2 by the end of the season but would like to get faster before i do. My first 3 bikes were size large. The other day my brother and I were riding and he suggest we switch bikes. He rides a medium salsa. I could tell I was faster through the twistys on his bike. So here is my question. Should I be riding a size medium frame. I'm 5'10 1/2. The local bike store fit me to a large but the three finger between your junk and the frame says a large is too big. Should i consider getting a medium frame? How tall are you and what size frame are you riding?

Fat-tired Roadie
    Dude. 5 races and 3 on the podium? You should start this season in Cat 2.

Clearly you're already considering a size medium frame. So it's a little too late to ask if you should consider it.

There are a couple major differences between frame sizes, in general. Shorter frames typically have a shorter wheelbase and shorter frames typically have a shorter reach. It's possible that you were feeling the shorter wheelbase. It's possible that your frame is set up too long for you and you tend to weight the hell out of the front wheel. It's possible that your brother has lighter wheels, or less weight high on the bike frame. All could effect the handling feel. Check out the geometry charts for your bike and your brother's bike too. In particular, look at head angles, wheelbases, chainstay lengths, and effective top tube lengths.