mtbr member

Flat bars vs Low Riser bars on 29er?

I just recently purchased a Tallboy to be my race bike and am wondering what peoples opinion is off Flat bars vs Low Riser? I have never used Flat bars before so know little about them or what they accomplish. Currently bike has low riser carbon bars.

Bike is set up full XTR with a 100mm fork. My weakness is my climbing and strength descending.

Thanks for opinions.
    Originally Posted by XC62701
    Agreed...make it longer. I want to know death is an option

BDT
    mtbr member
    I recently went from a Racer X with a 620mm riser to a Flash 29 w a 700mm 11 deg sweep flat bar. I put about 100miles on the bike with the flat bar, then put the 620mm riser on a for another 100miles.

With the riser I felt much faster descending, but overall the front end is a few inches higher than the Racer X and put me into a really upright position. I ended up trading for an 9 degree ENVE sweep cut down to 680 and it fells great.

Maybe measure the triangle between your contact points and try to recreate that on the Tallboy?

mtbr member
    Mar 2009
    All other things being equal, the flat bar should give a bit more feel / control through the turns, and help you to keep a little more weight over the front of the bike on steep climbs.

The riser bars make bunny hops, steep ledges, and jumps a little easier ("strength descending"). Also makes standing and mashing a little easier for me since I can crank down on the bars w/ upper body (SS especially).

If you are using this bike to race XC, you'll find you can make up more time cornering and climbing compared to downhill sections.

For my XC race bike, I'll always run flat bars. My trail bike and SS bikes have risers.

mtbr member
    Dec 2005
    Since you are speccing a new bike, you should pick which ever bars you find most comfortable and just buy a stem to get them in the right place. Flat/riser makes no difference.

mtbr member
    Apr 2008