Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Apr 2012

first time racer

So I registered for my first race. I've been browsing the forum and I'm looking for any hints or tips so I don't look like a total newb for my first race. Btw its the Rock Mountain Endurance Series, I assume there are other people on this forum that are racing that series also.
    Thanks for the tips guys
    Mike

Harshing my mellow, man..
    Jun 2008
    Usually to get an answer, you must ask a question first. So....

mtbr member
    Apr 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by Mrk9182 View Post
    I'm looking for any hints or tips so I don't look like a total newb for my first race.

Was that not good enough?

Harshing my mellow, man..
    Jun 2008
    Was that not good enough?
    Lycra full kit. Clipless pedals. Carbon shoes. Carbon bike. Pit crew.

No, it wasn't.

mtbr member
    Apr 2012
    Check, check, check, check, and check. Thanks for your help

Rod
    Endorphin Junkie
    I only have the lycra full kit and clipless pedals. 40% isn't passing so from one newb to the other: pace yourself, try to get a good start, and if you hear on your left, someone is coming around you on your left, so move over as far as you safely can. Try not to hold up a lot of faster racers either. Move over as soon as you can safely. Stay safe, have realistic expectations, and have fun.
    There is not much choice between rotten apples.

mtbr member
    Feb 2012
    Last year was my first year racing and I did the half marathon RME and Winter Park race series.

They are both a lot of fun, but RME is better and has free Dale's at the end of every race Breck is the best race in the series.

I did my first race with a camelbak, but switched to water bottle after that as they have lots of aid stations.