Thread: CTL Curve

mtbr member
    Dec 2012

CTL Curve

Hey guys,

I have been training pretty much since April 2013 and I continuously increased my training load (with recovery days and complete off days). Therefore my CTL Curve on Trainingpeaks is going up and up and I am winning races and things are paying off. Great so far.

The issue is that I am now at a point where I train 15 hours and more each week in order to still increase my CTL curve which I am sure is not right since I will end up with riding 24 hours each day soon...

What do I have to do next? Keep it steady? Let it drop?

Thanks

mtbr member
    Have a look at this article explaining the Training Peaks Performance Manager Chart with some examples:

What is the Performance Management Chart? | TrainingPeaks

If you're riding consistently and the CTL curve keeps increasing steadily upwards that's quite normal.

If the TSB curve goes too far negative however, and stays negative for an extended period, then that's often an indication that you should consider having a rest.

mtbr member
    Dec 2012
    Thanks a lot. Well, I do understand what CTL etc. is and based on what this is calculated but I was wondering when I should stop:

Basically I am increasing my TSS weekly/biweekly with sufficient rest and my CTL is therefore increasing all the time.

At some point increasing TSS will not be possible anymore as I am already riding 15+ hours every week and I obviously have time limitations.

Since I am now at this point; What should I do? Keep my weekly TSS steady to keep CTL steady? Make a winter break and let it go down to start next season again?

Thanks

mtbr member