mtbr member

Confused as to how to do different training rides..please help

Hi Everyone,

I am having a hard time trying to figure out exactly what type of rides I should be doing right now.....and more specifically what those ride entail exactly. I hear a lot about BT or LT and Interval rides but can someone explain by using examples exactly what that kind or ride would look like? I do have a good idea of what my LT is but do not have the knowledge of what these rides should look like.

Background: I am in my second year of riding and raced a few times last year with pretty good results. I only get out about 2-3 days a week right now but am trying to get out more (goal to be 3-4 days a week) with some running and cross training as well. One of the rides is a group road ride and I am able to hang with the A group pretty well. Typical mtn ride is 15-18 miles with 3k climbing or road 30ish miles.

Goal: Race 4-5 XC races in sport class and a couple or endurance races this season. And just be able to tackle some monster rides when they come around.

Thanks!
    Originally Posted by XC62701
    Agreed...make it longer. I want to know death is an option

mtbr member
    Apr 2005
    If you really want to star training the right way, there is a really good book from Joe Griel "The mountain Biker's training Bible" its a really good book, in which tell you the right way to train, the phases of you training such as Base, Build, Peak, etc....

But just to answer your quesitonin a short answer.

LT : Lactate Threshold which is your level of exercise intensity above in which lactate begins to rapidly accumulate in the blood.

and by BT I guess you are reffering to "Breakthrough" those are workouts that are meant to build or maintain your racing skill or abilities.....

mtbr member
    Oct 2007