mtbr member
    Aug 2009

Compex EMS Muscle Stimulator

It seems like there is a thread about Compex about every three years. i would like hear some fresh opinions about people experiences with the Compex units.

A little about my situation. i am 31 and recently suffered server achilles injury. recovery has been very tough. mainly because it is extremely hard to do pretty much anything. I cant really lift weights because ankles are really like outriggers. they stabilize body movement and keep balance. so i have been staying away from that.

i saw the Compex units a few years back and thought they were a great idea and passed them off to memories past. now i have revived my memory about it being a great idea and maybe a even better recovery tool.

has anyone used these for recovery?

mtbr member
    Feb 2011
    Hi there, I have been using EMS for the last year and a half, I use the GLOBUS products and I have been racing for the last 7 years in fact Last year I took 3rd place at he New York state MTB championships, I have had a lot of great results with the active recovery programs for post ride/race muscle soreness as well as general muscular aches and pains and it certainly helps speed up your recovery time, I ave also been using the strength training programs for my winter strength training regiment since I have limited access to weights and or a gym I find EMS solutions to be very cost effective and if you stick with it you can see some real results, I would recommend trying to see if there is someone in your area that can give you a demo so you can try it out for yourself. I hope that helps.

mtbr member
    Nov 2010
    Iíve often wondered about this technology. It seems like you could adapt something like this to spinscan software to maximize pedaling efficiency vis a vie electro-stimulation feedback. Possible?

mtbr member
    Feb 2011