mtbr member

Comments on 140mm rotor

Hello everyone,

I would like to ask you guys, if you prefer a 140mm rotor as your rear brake. Would I benefit during training and racing or would I be in trouble while bombing downhill?

Thanks,

Doc
    [SIZE="4"]07 IBEX Asta Expert X9 "La Bonita"
    04 LITESPEED Classic "Chispita"[/SIZE]
    Jan 07 @ 224lbs - Jan 08 @165lbs - Goal @ 155lbs

AZ
    banned
    For a xc ride I prefer 140 mm . If I plan on alot of d.h. I want as much brake as I can get .So , not a real answer , horses for courses .

mtbr member
    Jun 2008
    Depends on your weight, riding style, and riding location. 140's are fine as long as you know how to properly break, and are not morbidly obese.

mutaullyassuredsuffering

FIne

I've been running one for 3 years on my 26" bikes. I have used the Hope Floating rotor, XTR CL, and Avid cleansweep all with good luck. I can lock up the wheel long before I feel like I'm running out of power, and my brakes have never heated enough to notice. I live in the land of big descents (I have a 3,000 footer near my house)

The weight savings aren't enough, that I would go out of my way to do it...but it's what I have and it works.
    Free will is an illusion, people will always choose the perceived path of greatest pleasure.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by ::DYSLEXIC::
    Depends on your weight, riding style, and riding location. 140's are fine as long as you know how to properly break, and are not morbidly obese.
    I weigh 180lbs (used to be 165 a year ago, so I am trying to get back to this weight), and I would say that I have pretty good skills, I always keep my line, and I just rip them trails hehe, definitely love the sport. Have won a few races. Oh, btw I ride on the Sonoran Desert near the Tucson area. My descents are not that crazy, pretty fast and technical though with rock gardens, sand, and lots of cactii

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by used2Bhard