Thread: Coaching

mtbr member
    Apr 2013

Coaching

Hi,

I am new to the sport but was just wondering as someone who might want to get into racing in the future, will you need a coach?, to be competitive.

Thanks

mtbr member
    Jun 2012
    I think it is a "it depends" question (or is that answer?).

What is your age, bodyfat, athletic background?

As someone new to the sport, getting fitter comes down to more hours on the bike and a year round plan - first couple of years you can see big gains in fitness - just get out and start riding.
    Intervals?

As for myself, a coach would tell me to lean out a little more (3-5lbs maybe) and get more hours in - total training time 5-6 hours a week including a day of lifting - 3 days a week of riding.
    Preparing for first MTB race of the season

I know 'elite' level riders who are very competitive locally who are 'self coached'. They also use power meters on their road and mtb's along with software to analyze data. Some high level guys say they 'just ride' .

But, on the other hand there are coaches that operate locally and nationally that can give (sell) you plans based on your fitness level, hours available per week, etc.

I hope I helped
    Last edited by scottz123; 04-23-2013 at 05:11 AM.

mtbr member
    As was said, there are many 'it depends' associated with that question.

I think most people agree, at the entry and intermediate levels of racing, you can improve substantially (and be competitive) by riding more and riding harder, but also listening to your body and balancing the process with periodic rest. Coaching certainly wouldn't hurt during this process, but since gains are made primarily through just increased volume and intensity, it probably is not as critical.