What It Be ?

Cat2->Cat1 Base Miles.....

I raced our local summer series this past year and finished up 3rd overall in Cat2. So I submitted a request to USA Cycling to get my Cat1 upgrade. Lo and behold they granted my request. I've been slumming in sport for 3 years now. Time to make the leap.

My question to you is base miles. How many hours do you generally do before jumping into intervals/build period? My first race is in April XC in Delaware.

Last year I didn't really do any to speak of, 50-60 mile group rides at 18-20mph on the road. Some hard 1 hour hammerfests with some big roadies. Nothing really specific just fun hard riding with some rest. This year I want to get my training dialed in. The years (4) before I have been doing 12 hour races and the Shenandoah 100 and doing 60-80 miles rides just about every other weekend with lots of climbing. I plan on doing the climbing rides this spring to prep for interval work.

I do mostly road riding for training and mtb work to keep the skills sharp. No powermeter no desire to drop that kind of coin on one. I do have a HRM and a garmin.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisJ View Post
    My question to you is base miles. How many hours do you generally do before jumping into intervals/build period?
    Since I'm an older dude, I do the 2:1 type cycle (2 weeks on, 1 week lower volume). After that first cycle (3 weeks), I start integrating tempo intervals (classic Friel book model, which is 12 week base). Also some long winter group rides on Saturdays (3-4 hours), which gives some occasional threshold and VO2max efforts here and there.

But I don't start harder intervals (threshold, race start sims, etc.) till towards the end of base, which goes right into the first race of season. But it's a very steady, methodical, integration of progressively harder intervals throughout the 12 week base period.
    Last edited by Poncharelli; 11-26-2012 at 10:42 AM.
    Head Coach, Ben Lomond HS MTB Team