mtbr member
    May 2008

Bike trainer, stationary bike or "spin" type bike?

I'm a new father and don't have much time for the trails. I'm thinking about training some in my garage at night. I'm wondering what option would be best -- a bike trainer, stationary bike or spin type bike. A big benefit of a stationary bike is that wife would be able to use it.

I'm thinking about picking up a cheap bike trainer off of craigslist. I've never used one before -- what should I look for and do when I test it out? What are the different types of trainers?
    Last edited by bank5; 08-26-2013 at 12:11 PM.

Endurance Junkie
    Sep 2005
    I would personally not buy a really cheap or used trainer. There is a big quality difference. The Kurt Kinetic Road Machine is the best trainer you can get for the money IMO. It is fairly quiet and smooth and not that expensive in the grand scheme of trainers. Cheap trainers tend to be loud and the resistance can be very variable. I had a 1UpUSA trainer for a long time and it was terrible. It felt like my tire would slip and/or squeak every time I road.

mtbr member
    May 2008
    ^ Thanks, that's good to know. I modified my original post to also include stationary bikes

mtbr member
    I bought a used spin bike from a gym that was selling them since they were getting in new models. That is the best way to go, IMHO. The spin bike seat and handlebars can be adjusted so your wife can use it to. The Spin bike tends to give a smoother pedal stroke and better resistance modulation as well as a more true-to-form position that is better training for cyclists compared to an exercise bike that is usually significantly more laid back. I have never felt like the exercise bikes truly mimic a real bicycle, while the spin bike can.