Thread: Base training?

Always pushing harder!!!

Base training?

I just started riding again and also completed my first 3 weeks of Base heading into my first recovery week. My racing schedule was pushed back almost 3 weeks compared to last year, and I was wondering if adding a fourth block of Base would be a good idea. I don't want to start build too early, but most of my races are in the early part of spring. I do have some targeted races, but they are a bit farther on the schedule.

Any advice on how to target those races but also be more competitive early in the season? Maybe a longer Base and shorter Build? My volume is up form 450 to 500-550 hours this year...so maybe I can manage a longer Base...

mtbr member
    Jun 2012
    Are you following training bible?

The closer you get to race - more race specific workouts need to be.

I am focusing on raising power @ threshold. More SST (Sweet spot) and threshold work in off season this year - No zone 2 (including base). I have cold winters to deal with - want to spend less time on trainer.

Two months before first race "that counts" I will start adding anaerobic threshold intervals.

I do not plan on "losing" that much fitness this off-season. Last winter was mild here in chicago, so I could get out all year - odds are not this year.

Let me know if I helped with your question. I guess it depends on how important your first race is - or if you want to "race to train"

mtbr member
    Jun 2012

This is what I was talking about...

mtbr member
    Nov 2011
    what is your "base" training composed of?

why are you working on a 3 week / 1 week off basis?

mtbr member
    Jun 2012

Base training

He is probably working with a plan like Joe Friels for example - (google Joe friels blog)

Joe Friel - Base 1 Training, Part 1

basic principle
    wk 1 5hr
    wk 2 6hr
    wk 3 7hr
    wk 4 3.5hrs deload

Increase intensity and / or duration and then recover to help prevent over training and then race and or test