Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
    mtbr member

Anyone race XC on a 5+ inch travel bike ???

Brief background: I have been posting to this forum since it started and have seen a Thread about " What race bike should I buy" every other month! Now here I am in need of a new race bike and I can't figure out what to get I've been racing a BLUR XC for 4 years and I live in NOR CAL, race expert, and will be 50 next season. Also my first of 2 kids starts college next year, so I can only get one bike, but I want 2. Most of the races out here are not technical, but a couple are and some of my riding in the summer is on rocky technical trails.
    My dilemma is this: Do I get another Blur XC ( carbon) or something like BLT Carbon or an IBIS MOJO SL.? I had made up my mind to get the Blur xc with a 120mm fork. Then my friend let me borrow his BLT for a few days, WOW! It just goes through rocks and bumps, and like everyone told me it is just plain MORE FUN. I know the IBIS is also a great bike. I have spent hours specking out the parts and there is a 1-2 pound penalty for going with the BLT or the IBIS. I've been racing for 8 years and know 1-2 pounds is not a huge deal, but on a long climb it is a big deal. ( I'm 6' and 150 pounds so don;t tell me to lose a couple pounds) With the extra travel I will make up the time on a course like Downieville, but not other courses.
    So, has anyone else made the switch to doing XC races on one these new sub 25 pound 5+inch travel bikes?
    Ride to eat, Eat to ride.

mtbr member