mtbr member
    Oct 2004

Anyone prefer a slacker head angle on their race bike?

So, I'm a Cat 1 racer that is a little late to the 29er party... started riding them last year. I've ridden anthems, top fuels, now a superfly, as well as raced a Trek remedy at a couple enduros (anglesetted down to 66.5deg ha)...

My bike fit is a bit odd, I'm not a typically proportioned rider... and I find myself feeling much better and even faster on a slack head angle bike 68-69, even on a 29er. I think I might be able to explain why, but curious if others prefer a slacker head angle (think 68-69, as opposed to the typical xc racing 70-71).

So, kind of a focus group here to develop hypotheses...

Do you prefer a slacker head angle on your race bike? How fast are you? Any thoughts on why you prefer a slack ha while the industry keeps making 70-72deg head angle 29er xc bikes?

mtbr member
    Oct 2008
    I had a choice to get the new Superfly 100 elite at shop cost but I decided to build a Jet9 RDO with a 120mm Fox fork on it instead. I had a Superfly hard tail last year. I like the handling much better then the more "race" inspired geometry and suspension design of the Superfly and Epics I test rode.

I only have money and space for one MTB so having a great trail and race bike is also nice.

mtbr member
    Oct 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by azpoolguy View Post
    I had a choice to get the new Superfly 100 elite at shop cost but I decided to build a Jet9 RDO with a 120mm Fox fork on it instead. I had a Superfly hard tail last year. I like the handling much better then the more "race" inspired geometry and suspension design of the Superfly and Epics I test rode.

I only have money and space for one MTB so having a great trail and race bike is also nice.