Bro Mountainbiker

Any disadvantages of low Q factor?

I have sram force cranks on both my road and cross bikes which measure out to 145.5mm Q-factor.

I have been planning to upgrade my cranks on my MTB to XX1s. But I have been on the fence between the low and high Q-Factor options. The low Q-factor GXP option measures out to 156mm, while the high Q-factor measures out to 168mm.

The 168mm is close to what I have been riding on my MTBs for the past few years, but the 156mm is going to be much more similar to my road and cross bikes.

I do about 50% of my training on the road, and 50% on the MTB.

So to the heart of my question, are there any disadvantages for low Q factor?
    Obviously, you need a q factor that biomehanically fits your body. But if we are comfortable riding on the road with low Q, I dont see any issues with it on the MTB...

Do you lose any bike handling or stability? I know DH bikes have wide Q factors. But I am no expert in that field. It may simply be an byproduct of wider hubs and chainline.

Another thought is that a narrow Q factor will put your weight closer the center line of the bike when the outside pedal is loaded in a corner.

Anyway, look forward to hearing what yall think.
    Sheepo
    Raised in a Chicken-Coop by Chickens

AZ
    banned
    The wider Q on mtb's is derived from build constraints, fitting a wider tire requires things to be spread out.

mtbr member
    Nov 2007