mtbr member
    Oct 2008

12 hour race. Zero experience. 2 months to train. Any tips?

I'm really considering entering a 12 hour race. I've never done anything like this before. In fact, I've only raced twice on a 17 mile course. My longest ride is around 25 miles. I just want to finish. That is my only goal. Any tips on training, nutrition, etc? I've been reading everything I can find on the internet and I would really appreciate your input as well.

Thanks
    Evan

mtbr member
    Mar 2013
    how long is each lap? are you doing a team or solo entry? do you have a plan for meals?
    Put a mountain biker in a room with 2 bowling balls and we'll break one and lose the other - GelatiCruiser

mtbr member
    Oct 2008
    Quote Originally Posted by SandSpur View Post
    how long is each lap? are you doing a team or solo entry? do you have a plan for meals?
    15 mile lap. Solo- single speed. Not yet. I read somewhere that liquid nutrition is best, but I'm not sure if that applies to endurance races. Also, I'll most likely be doing this self supported. They let you set up a 10x10 tent, which I'll stock with goodies. I have help setting up, but I have not been able to convince anyone to hang out for 12 hours in the desert.

Fat-tired Roadie
    Keep drinking and eating. Don't try to go too fast. Do lots of long rides between now and then.
    "Don't buy upgrades; ride up grades." -Eddy Merckx

mtbr member
    Jun 2012
    Wow, I thought I had a tough race coming up 44 miles and 8500 feet of climbing I am hoping to finish in 6 hours.

Is there only 12 hour race, a lot of time they have 6 hours as well.

Might be a better place to start.

If they don't, start slow learn what foods you tolerate while exercising.

A few suggestions: Fig newtons, gummy bears , banana's!! I like the cliff zbar ropes.

Trader Joes has awesome dried fruit that might work for you.

Don't forget a good sports drink. No shame in taking a break here and there. 12 hours is a long time on a bike.