involuntary dismounter

will it ever get easier?

i started riding again about 6 months ago after a long absence (due to a really bad ride that literally almost killed me)...and i'm having a blast...except for one thing...

...all the ppl i ride with are boys...and they keep getting better...and i feel like i am not getting better as fast as them...so i feel like the little kid that trails the older cooler kids...and i don't like that feeling...

am i alone on this one? or do others feel this way too? will i ever get better?

i'm sick of being the slowest one out there!!!

i need a pep-talk!

L1MEY
    You shouldn't feel bad... I get that feeling most of the time.

Most often I ride with my hubby, who is (amazingly) slower than I am, or on my own. When I ride with other people, which is not very often, I am always the last one. I dunno what it is really... I've only been riding off road seriously for about a year, but I'm in pretty decent shape (I ride, run, hike and go to the gym). I find I have plenty of stamina to keep riding for a long time, but the short burst of energy required for a steep climb just wipes me out if I'm not really careful about pacing myself. I guess the only cure is more time on the bike working on those climbs, and making sure I have enough energy food with me.

The key is enjoyment. If you're not enjoying riding with the fast guys, go on your own and see if you enjoy it more. If you do, then it doesn't matter how fast or slow you are because you're having fun

- Jen.
    - Jen.

abolisher of A$$holes
    I'm not really sure what type of riding you're talking about...but I'll take a guess that it's Dh/FR from your profile...in that case...

my first thought is that you still may be a little hesitant from such a bad ride/crash? you had a while ago...it always takes time after one, but it seems like for most males it's easier to shake off than the females...