mtbr member
    Jul 2012

Protective gear for beginner

Hi everyone, I am a beginner to mountain biking, and I guess you could say that what I plan on doing is just XC stuff. My boyfriend and I split the cost of a Trek 3700 so I could begin riding with him. So far we have only ridden two trails together (both in southern New Mexico when he was visiting his home on leave) and one was extremely rocky and I was so terrified I walked half the trail. The second ride while we were out there was much better but there were still lots of bushes and cactus I was scared of falling in. We normally live in southern California (I'm near the north county area of San Diego and he is now stationed in 29 Palms, we we are back and forth between desert and chaparral landscapes) so we will be going through lots of sharp and prickly dry bushes haha.

I already fell once while in NM and I'm still scared of falling while I'm learning. I'm so used to being fully padded when I play ice hockey so I feel really exposed without anything but gloves and my helmet on the bike. Does anyone have any suggestions for some protective shin/elbow/chest/shoulder protection for a beginner like myself? I'm also pretty tall for a girl 5'9". Any advice would be helpful!!

Also, would certain types of riding pants be beneficial? I saw TLD and Fox had some pants and shorts for mountain biking but I don't know if that would look funny for a XC rider

mtbr member
    I just bought my wife some knee/shin guards because we’re starting to ride more technical trails and I wanted her to be better protected.

I’d start out with knee/shin guards and elbow pads. As a beginner, you are going to beat up your shins and it’s also nice to have your elbows protected, since you sometimes use them to break your fall. You won’t always need to wear them, but when you know you’re going to ride a gnarlier trail you can pack them in with you.