Don't worry, be happy!

More on clips to flats

I finally got it together to switch out my pedals to my new Wellgo MG-1s and try out my new flat/sticky shoes. I warned DH that I anticipated a learning curve,( ie, stupid futzing around with new setup) especially since our chosen ride had several miles of single track climbing.

Big surprise, I wouldn't consider there to be a learning curve at all! I had basically zero slippage on the pedaling climbs... in fact, I felt very secure right out the gate.
    I felt very stuck to the pedal... the thought that I might gash my shin by popping my foot off never even crossed my mind. Probably the only item that falls under "learning curve" is getting started on the trail heading up. I've been riding with clips for 15+ years, and the motion of clipping in with a little power stroke to get momentum going up is pretty ingrained. It's definitely different not having a clip, and I haven't quite figured it out.

Here's what really blew me away and I'm still trying to get my head around what I felt and if I'm possibly psyching myself ( in a good way). The trails we rode feature lots of nicely bermed tight corners and perfectly just rideable rounded switchbacks on the descent. Now, I've been a pretty good technical rider for a very long long time, but on those tight round corners there's always an element of mental work to make sure I've got the right line, best body position, exit steering all sighted blah blah. Somehow, with this new setup, it all just came easier. A lot easier. A lot more flow, a lot less mind. The only thing I can possibly think of is that being free of clips my feet are placed more perfectly natural for wherever it is they need to be. It was rather mind blowing, actually.... am I imagining this, or has anyone else experienced this? I've never run across it in the dozens of bike/shoe/flats discussion I've been following in various fora.

Short version, I'm sold.

mtbr member
    Sep 2012