mtbr member
    Nov 2009

New question here. HT $1500-$1800 suggestions ladies?? Need help deciding!!

Hey all,

I've recently sold my 26" FS AM bike and i'm wishing to upgrade back to a HT within a price range of $1500-$1800. I'm a 5'6" 110 lbs female and i've been tossing around a 35lb bike for the past 4 years so I'm ready to cut some weight. I also want to venture into the 27.5 or 29 sector but there are too many options! I've heard great opinions from guys but I need some advice from females. I have a few models in mind I've been able to test out below that I like-- Feel free to shoot some ideas my way! Here are the two I have in mind.

Giant XTC 27.5 (2)

XtC 27.5 2 (2014) - Bikes | Giant Bicycles | United States

Felt Nine50 (LBS is cutting me a deal on a new wheel/tire set to cut the weight so upgrade is in the bag)

Nine 50 - Felt Bicycles

Any feedback is greatly appreciated !!

Team Chilidog!
    I think if I was looking at a hardtail, I would be looking at steel, carbon, or ti. Aluminum might be a bit harsh for trail riding. Unfortunately, it doesn't help your wheel size choice.

Not clear if you mean the just the frame or the entire bike, but these are what I was looking at for hardtails. My currrent hardtail is a Yeti DJ, so probably not what you're looking for, although I have seen some insane people ride a DJ on the trails.

Personally, I'm not a fan of Giant. I would definitely test ride the Felt though. Take a look at their manufacturer forums here: see how happy people are with their CS (every frame maker has breaks, it's just a matter of how they treat their customers) and decide if you want to pursue. Your LBS also sounds supportive, which is also good.

What I would be looking at it the AM/slacker ones. If I'm correct, they all have various wheel size options.
    * On-One 456 (steel and ti, steel is well within your price range):Bikes - As Seen On TV
    * Chromag has a few (Frames Overview | Frames | Products)