Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Help !! My shoulders are killing me after a ride!

1K views 16 replies 11 participants last post by  rfields4013 
#1 ·
I am a beginner rider of about 3 months. I have put in about 120 miles total of trail riding. I had a different bike for most of that milage. It worked fine but the quality of parts was not good. The crank completely broke so TSA did not want to fix it but instead give me another bike. The other bike was much better than the one before so I took it, but it is killing my shoulders after a ride. I have a 2007 K2 crush, 17 inch frame. I think maybe the frame is a little big but I can't take it back so I need to find a way to make this work for me. I love the ride but hate the afterwards. Does anyone have any ideas?? I took the bike to a local bike shop and all he wanted to do was sell me another bike not help. I may buy another bike but it will have to be after Christmas. I need to find a way to make this work until then. I am 5feeet 5 inches so after research I think I may need a little smaller frame but for short time is there something else? I have thought about the stem maybe getting one shorter and angled differently. Could this work??? Help anybody!!!!!!!:madman:

#3 ·
Who did your bike fitting? IMHO it's worth the time and money to get a proper bike fitting.

I had the same trouble with my road bike and was ready to start playing with stems. Turns it out wasn't the stem at all, just my posture on the bike.

#4 ·
Go to a bike shop and tell them up front that you are there to make your current bike fit you as well as it can and you are not interested in buying a new bike. Then ask them to fit you on the bike. Most shops will do it for free if you are buying some replacement parts or may charge a small fee. You can probably make the bnike work for you for a while with a dif stem and seat adjustment, bringing it forward. (?)