mtbr member
    Nov 2005

Hello and first post

It is my first time posting online anywhere. My husband (mward) is on mtbr all the time and I decided today I would post my own.

For the first time in my life I rode Landahl today and didn't leave a trail of explitives the entire way. I didn't have hateful thoughts, and wasn't secretly transforming every trail name into my own choice words. I left feeling completely amazed at such an awesome ride.

I started riding with my husband a couple years ago, and we have come to love the sport. We mostly ride on the Katy trail since it is in our backyard, but we love singletrack and we have raced the past 2 summers in the kansas city area. I had a nasty fall last year, and my riding wasn't the same since. I kept with it for a little while, but late this season I told him that I was completely done. I was tired of walking 80% of the trails because I didn't know how to ride over rocks, roots, logs, switchbacks...you name it. It was very demeaning that I couldn't even seem to ride the family trail. So anyways, I said I was done unless I could gain some skills to match the areas that we were constantly riding. My husband, not wanting me to quit decided he would do anything and everything to help make next season more enjoyable for me.

First he got me a custom 29er by Rob Pennel. This bike is designed specifically with a woman's geometry in mind. It is a beautiful bike with candy apple blue and special details in every nook. I am not much on techy stuff, but the bike fits...perfect. I thought my other bike was perfect until I had the opportunity to really ride this bike.