mtbr member
    Jan 2014

Getting my new bike with specs changed without notice.....

Hi, I am new to mtbing, and am purchasing my second mtb.

I have a question: Can the dealer (bike shop) change the specs of a bike (without notice) when you are picking up your new bike? Eg: can they change the tires' brand and size if they claimed that they have "run out of stock".

Please also see this page - the very bottom says : "All specifications are subject to change without notice".
    Lust Advanced 27.5 2 (2014) - Bikes | Giant Bicycles | New Zealand

Really ? Can they do that ? Have you ever had this problem when buying your new bike ?

mtbr member
    Jun 2013
    I'm not sure if they can legally so I cant say where you stand on that front but Id think any store has to provide you with notice of the changes as you're paying for said bike.
    In the case of the changes it should ok if.
    1.There is no additional cost to you as that's not your problem
    2.The parts put on the bike are of equal or better quality and value.

May sure you check the parts changed and compare the two not just price wise but performance wise, you are purchasing this bike, they really should have rang you and said look we don't have this part but we can offer you this for nothing or this for a bit more or less etc.

mtbr member
    Jan 2014
    Totally agree with what you said!

mtbr member
    Have they already attempted to substitute parts or is this just a preemptive concern? It would be pretty shady if they put on a lesser part class without noting.
    '93 Giant Sedona ATX custom
    '93 Giant Sedona AtX aero-edition
    '73 Schwinn Suburban
    '95 Fuji Suncrest

mtbr member
    Jan 2014
    When I pickup the bike 2 days ago. I noticed the tires were not the same: 2.1 width and non-tubeless[Whereas the specs (the link above) says the Tire is 2.25 and TLR.]
    When I wanted them to change it, they said "read the fine print".