mtbr member

gave road biking a chance

I am just a beginner at mountain biking and have been trying to get my friends to join in. My friend/boss always tries to get me to get a road bike and ride with her. Today I went on my first road ride and borrowed a very nice Specialized bike. I definitely had an appreciation for the bike, very lightweight and efficient. I think the size and everything were okay, but it just felt so odd. We only went about 7.5 miles. The first half of the ride I felt very nervous. It didn't help that I had no idea how to shift and my shoelace came loose and got grabbed by the chain. While figuring out how to shift, I almost hit the curb. By the second half of the ride I was a little more comfortable and actually ended up doing okay. What do you think, should I give it more of a chance? I feel way more comfortable mountain biking, but don't want to be close minded. P.S. You can tell what I am wanting to hear by the fact that I posted here and not on a road bike forum.

hari kari
    Quote Originally Posted by beegirl