Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    mtbr member

Flats or Clipless

OK ladies...flats or clipless and why. Just got my new bike all dialed in and I put flats on it because I am a scaredy cat novice that would like to let the bike go down the cliff all by itself. I am a decent rider and my LBS trainer/adviser says, "Trust me (I hate it when it starts like that), if I put you on the trainer and you practice and then I take you to the park where it is soft (whaaaat?) you will only fall once. Then you will figure it out and you will be fine. You will have more power. If I don't put you on the trainer to practice, you will fall twice at the park () and then you will be fine. Clipless is just more efficient."

So now you have it. What are your preferences??

Thanks!

Don't worry, be happy!
    uh oh - this one is where everyone has an opinion, and here's mine. Skip the clips, at least as a novice. You might like to try them later once you have confidence and a good skills base. It's one more thing to think about when you are trying to get plenty of other skills dialed in. As for the efficiency thing, it's proven to be BS if you look at the science of it, at least according to what I have read.
    I rode with clips for 15+ years and switched to flats last year. My very first ride was 9 miles up hill on singletrack, with flat pedals and sticky shoes (Teva Links fwiw)

If you go to a mountain bike clinic, chances are very good that they will want you to not have clips, and there is a reason for that.

This page links to an article that I found especially helpful for sorting out the BS that you hear about both kinds of pedals.
    https://www.bikejames.com/strength/t...h-flat-pedals/

Whatever you choose, don't let someone else pressure you into doing something that you aren't comfortable with.

Here are some prior threads in this forum
    More on clips to flats
    Shoe reviews (for flat pedals)

Moderator Moderator