mtbr member
    Jul 2013

Female Mountain Bike Apparel

I am very new to mountain biking and I rode on my first trail yesterday. I had so much fun and would definitely do it again.
    But I have an issue. My crotch hurts. HA go figure. My boyfriend who was an avid mountain biker 5 years ago did suggest for me to get padded shorts but I declined since I though that since I do crossfit, nothing will hurt as much. But it does.

I want to get reviews from women who had bought women's mountain bike apparel and what their reviews are on certain padded shorts, gloves or high socks etc. Basically I just want to know what women out there think about the best clothing or accessories they have bought that they deem worth paying the price for. I just dont want to buy expensive clothing or accessories out of the whim without knowing how people really thought about the durability or performance of the product is.

If you could please kindly give me your input. I live in Florida and will mostly be going on trails down here, its mostly sandy and hot..So maybe anyone who has an input on summer apparel will work.

Thank you so much in advance! hope to hear from you!

mtbr member
    There is a women's specific forum that might be of more use to you on this subject.

mtbr member
    I dunno, I am a chick but my padded shorts are dude shorts and so are my jerseys. I know women's specific stuff is usually cut better for how we are supposedly built(curvy) but since I am built like a teenage boy, I find guy stuff fits me better if I wear smaller sizes. However, in running gear, I do wear girly stuff and the only thing I notice mostly is how long "short sleeves" are in guy vs girl wear. But other than that, flashy colors are the only reason I wear gender specific stuff for running. Guys apparently wear only white, black, red, or yellow clothing to run in. But in biking stuff, girl wear is more limited. Go figure!
    2010 Surly Conundrum
    2012 Pugsley
    2012 Felt Brougham