mtbr member
    Feb 2014

Buying new MTB - need help!!!!

I've been riding for over 5 years now and am ready to buy a better mountain bike. I'm 5'-3" and currently ride a men's 15.5" frame Trek 6500 26" wheel. I do a variety of riding but mainly ride trails with lots of hills up and down (no big mountains in my area) and some technical stuff, no big drops. I'm looking for a kick a** hardtail with good components with a budget around $2000.

I need input on several things:

- 29er, 650b, or 26? - Is a 29er too big for me? 650b's seem to be a great middle ground but don't seem to be catching on much?

- Men's frames that typically fit women? - in doing some research it seems that women's bikes tend to be more expensive than men's for the same quality of bike. I'd prefer to get a men's bike and would need a small or XS frame size. Any specific companies have men's bikes that tend to fit women's geometry?

- General recommendations for specific bikes or bike companies that I should take a look at?

Any and all advice is much appreciated! Thanks everyone!

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    Don't get stuck on if a bike is a men's or woman's ,get the one that fits. Wheel size is a personal choice ,borrow,rent ,demo, or test ride as many bikes as you can.There are people your size riding 29er's. The market for 650's is growing now ,at least around here.

mtbr member
    Feb 2014
    I know fit is most important, but the bike shops around me don't have many options, especially in my size. Usually they'll have one beginner level women's frame, or a bunch of men's medium sized frames.

I need to do some traveling to other bike shops for test rides so just looking to narrow down some of my choices a bit.

XC-Chick
    Feb 2011