mtbr member
    Aug 2013

Bike advice for my wife!

Hi ladies (and the occasional guy). I should start off by saying that, yes, I'm a guy too. I'm here because I'm looking for a good bike for my wife. But it's not an easy decision, as she's a complicated case, and so I'm hoping to pick up a bit of advice here in the lounge.

First of all, she's a complete newbie. When I met her, she didn't own a bike of any kind. About two years ago, I managed to get her to buy a hybrid for cruising the neighborhood with me - a lavender colored Trek Navigator 2.0. She was more into the comfort and accessories than anything else. She wanted to ride upright, not "hunched over." She wanted to be able to put her feet down easily, and to be able to step through her frame rather than swing her leg over it. And she wanted a place to mount a basket, amongst other silly things she decided were necessary.

Now she does seem to really like her bike, and rides it for short distances fairly frequently. I've ridden it myself, out of curiosity, and between the front fork and the seatpost suspension, and the upright seating position and the super-wide saddle, I have to say it was probably the most comfortable ride I've ever been on (like a couch - with handlebars!) But it's heavy, and cumbersome to turn (especially with that damn basket attached!), the brakes are atrocious, and even she admits she's not a fan of the twist-style shifters. But overall, her biggest complaint is that she just cannot find a saddle that feels comfortable for extended riding periods. I've tried to explain to her that this is normal, and that the more she rides, the less it will bother her. But my words fall on deaf ears.