mtbr member
    Mar 2011

Armor: Hard Shell vs Regular/d3o type guards

Hi All - I wear G-Form light pads on my knees and elbows now. They fantastic in NJ. Keep me warm, and keep me scuff free. But they aren't protective enough in Cali. I sure don't feel the confidence to fall off my bike on a steep descent at +15mph and be protected. Most my rides locally are shuttle type rides. All the boys I see are either the Euro-spandex + zero armor (what!?) but mostly 100% covered, full armor, hard shell, full face bros.

I am new to these hard shell pads, never worn them. Are they better? Am I getting this right (below)? It's hot as hell right now, and I have to think they'd be better for air flow since they completely open on the inside of your arms/legs....I want to pull the trigger on a new set of armor, but figured I'd get input from here first. I also plan to use them on non-shuttle rides like in Tahoe and Mammoth areas. Thanks!

Hard Shell

Pro:
    Harder for bone protection
    Full coverage
    Better ventilation?

Con:
    Bulkier
    Heavier?
    Less comfortable?

Regular d3o/softer pads

Pro:
    Better mobility?
    Comfort
    Lighter
    Less coverage for those that don't need full

Con:
    Warmer? 360 fabric wrap coverage
    Less protection
    Higher deterioration/fabric weakens etc

mtbr member
    I went with my GF to Mammoth last week and she wore her 661 body armor along with her full face. It was a sweat fest for her. Her suit was drenched when she took it off. Second day she did not wear the armor...just her Kali knee pads and G-form elbows...along with the helmet.

I just wear my full face and G-Form knee pads no elbow (I should though). I have a pair of Kali knee/shin when I use my platforms.

Only thing I can see worthwhile on a full body armor is the shoulder protection. Majority of crashes involve landing on the side of the body...either shoulder or hip. G-Form also has a t-shirt that had front and side protection.