just ride
    Aug 2014

Advice on sizing!...please

Hi Ladies!
    New here - and looking for advice. I'm in the market for a Cannondale 29er entry level maybe a Tango 29er SL4 or a bit less expensive
    Tango 29er 5 (both hardtail)
    I tried the medium and the small and lean toward the medium in both because on the small I seemed to run out of seat wanting to sit further back. However my inseam is 29" and when flat footed I was touching the bar - so I tried the SL and since the design was radically different I had more clearance.
    I have a couple concerns - their are no reviews that I can find.
    I'm somewhat new to mountain biking and concerned that running a medium frame at 5' 3 1/2 will be sketchy cause I'll be higher off the ground.
    However the medium did feel really stable on the test runs.
    eeer... any advice would be great!
    Thanks

mtbr member
    Oct 2013
    I'm not familiar with Cannondale's sizing and all brands differ...that said, I'm 5'8" and I ride a M in a Rocky Mountain, so it seems like a M could be a touch big? As to position, did you try sliding the seat back on the rails?

I wouldn't worry about being 'higher off the ground'---what you really want to see is how maneuverable the bike is under you and how you feel on the bike. Particularly if you feel like your arms are straight or only slightly bent---this will definitely affect how much you can move the bike around. If this describes the fit--you want a smaller bike You may also want to think about what kind of riding you *hope* to advance to---if you think you're going to like more technical riding, you may well want to go with the smaller frame.

That's the best I can provide.....

mtbr member
    Aug 2008