mtbr member
    Aug 2009

New question here. Rookie help! Best bike $600 range?

I'm a newbie and don't know where to start searching for a decent ride!
    Looking for a hardtail in the $600 - 700ish (broke college student) range. If possible something better than a Dart 3 fork.
    Had my eye on this one ($700 Tora SL) http://ibexbikes.com/Bikes/TR-COMP-Details.html ... but of course its out of stock.
    I'm 6' 180 so a size 20-21 frame?
    I need something that can take an absolute beating... I've broken 2 lower quality bikes on my local trail already.
    Any suggestions of would be appreciated.

Legend
    Nov 2004
    I am 6'0" with a 34" inseam and I am 172lbs (usually), I have ridden bikes generally labelled as "large" or anywhere between 18-19". I have often had people yell "Ett smash" as I ride down gnarly trails, though I am pretty smooth, I don't always take the cleanest lines.

At that price range, is there a particular reason you are looking for a new bike? In that price range, you would likely be able to scoop a $1,200-ish hardtail that someone purchased and never rode for 3 years and is looking to unload for right around what you want to spend. With a used bike, you would get decent hydraulic brakes, an XT/x.9 / Deore/x.7 littered bike, a solid frame, a reliable fork (Marzocchi / RS lower end stuff, maybe a Fox) and generally bombproof components. For the kind of bike you are looking for, any hardtail frame is pretty much equal; seems like those Trek 4300's or 6700's or whatever are all over the place for cheap. I sold an '04 Kona Caldera in pretty much mint condition for $500 (Canadian, at that) that would have been great; those deals aren't impossible to find.

Good luck.

mtbr member
    Aug 2009
    Awesome. Thanks for the info. How should I go about looking for a used bike? I checked out ebay, but it seems cluttered with older stuff. Also, would it be cheaper to buy just the frame then build on it?

This Space For Rent