mtbr member
    Oct 2012

Looking for a new entry level MTB

A friend wants a new complete MTB for light XC riding. Anyone know of any deals right now? Budget of $300-$500.

Thanks

mtbr member
    Jan 2012

That's really low, best to check the used market such as Craigslist or go single speed (which may or may not work for them).

mtbr member
    Oct 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by SS Hack View Post
    That's really low, best to check the used market such as Craigslist or go single speed (which may or may not work for them).
    So there's nothing under 500 you think is worth riding? What about a bikesdirect bike such as this one: Save up to 60% off Mountain Bikes - MTB - Motobecane 550HT

No good for a beginner?

mtbr member
    Aug 2012
    IMO I think that bike will do fine for a beginner, but once your friend starts to get into it, the fork will become junk.

mtbr member
    Apr 2005
    I have no experience with bikesdirect, but your friend might want to consider buying from an LBS (local bike shop) if this is his/her first bike. The parts on cheaper bikes will invariably need more adjustment, tuning, repairs, or replacements, than a higher-build bike. It would be tough to get that done through mail order. A local shop usually has a period of free service with new bike sales. Be sure to ask about that. Your friend might save money up front, but pay for it later with repair bills.
    Justin
    Salt Lake City
    2012 Specialized Stumpjumper FSR Comp 29
    2006 Specialized Allez Expert Double

mtbr member
    I would check out the Airborne Skyhawk Airborne Bicycles. Skyhawk

mtbr member
    May 2011
    How about the GT Avalanche from Performance Bike? You'll have a local shop to go to for help, and with all the deals and rewards they always have going, the 3.0 or 2.0 might be around that range. Try CL too for a used one for even less.

mtbr member
    Aug 2012