mtbr member
    Jan 2004

Advice from you guys needed

Here is my dilema: I have bent/dinged all the rims that have gone on the rear wheel of my hard tail (6 and counting) the past 4 or 5 years (mainly due to commuting and bunnyhopping from street to curbs). I have a spare wheelset left which is disc brake only.

Do I buy a deore tubeless wheelset (vbrake only) from nashbar for 23% off which is about 100.00 or do I buy avids bb5, cables and adaptors and slap them on the hardtail which would total about 100.00. I dont need disc for my hardtail, but I do need something in the back.

mtbr member
    Nov 2004
    I have been riding my bikes for many years on trails with lots of 2-3 foot drops and have never had my wheels dinged to the point they needed to be replaced. It seems like you must be doing something wrong to destroy that many wheels in that amount of time while commuting, maybe you are running with crazy low air pressure?

As far what to do it seems like you may as well buy the new wheels, that way you still have your spare set of wheels that you could use or sell. h

Another option would be buy a new rim and have the wheel re-built which would probably cost around the same and you could give your LBS some business.

Quote Originally Posted by micky
    Here is my dilema: I have bent/dinged all the rims that have gone on the rear wheel of my hard tail (6 and counting) the past 4 or 5 years (mainly due to commuting and bunnyhopping from street to curbs). I have a spare wheelset left which is disc brake only.

Do I buy a deore tubeless wheelset (vbrake only) from nashbar for 23% off which is about 100.00 or do I buy avids bb5, cables and adaptors and slap them on the hardtail which would total about 100.00. I dont need disc for my hardtail, but I do need something in the back.
    TEX

mtbr member
    Jan 2004

I dont think I do anything crazy

For the most part when it comes to jumping anything more than 2-3 feet, I am a wimp.