mtbr member
    Jan 2013

Tubes, should I go w/ Slime or something different?

Local bike shop said slime tubes are old technology there are better options but the conversation shifted so i didn't get to ask questions. I am new to the sport but am losing air in one of my tubes. A friend said unless i add slime, i will constantly be fighting flats.

Thought i would ck w/ you. I don't really want to go tubless, so i'll either stick w/ std tubes, slime or if there is something else...

Also, are most of you buying the compressed air can vs. carrying a pump? I have a pump but wondered if i should ditch it and get the can.

mtbr member
    There are several products out there for preventing flats with tubes. All add weight of course in the worst possible spot (rotating weight). Also, tubes lose a few PSI a day so that is normal.

The Slime tubes have been around a long time and work pretty well in most cases. Some people prefer to use a latex sealant like Stans No Flats injected into tubes (Schrader or Presta with removable cores) which works very well but will eventually dry out. You can also try tire liners like the lightweight Speed Skins.
    Former bicycle mechanic for 8 years, current soil scientist.

Blog

no trees are safe
    Michelin has launched Protex max tubes, which are marketed as a revolution in self sealing tubes. Unfortunately I haven't found any reviews on the subject yet. Perhaps you could check those out.

workin' it Administrator