Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Tubeless. Worth it for the non-racer?

13K views 29 replies 25 participants last post by  Manning 
#1 ·
Is it really worth the expense for the minimum weight loss to go tubeless? Sounds like a fun new thing to try but why? Please help me understand since the 100 grams lost really won't be noticed on my weekend warrior riding...I don't think.

#2 ·
Most people who ride tubeless do it for the flat protection over any weight loss. In fact full UST setups are usually heavier than equivalent tires and tubes.

I have not had a single pinch flat or puncture flat running tubeless over the years (and only a few burp flats, usually from running converted tires or rims).

#3 ·
its not about the weight all though you can build up a lighter wheelset with top end wheels and tires.I have been using tubeless since 2004, advantages are excellent flat protection if used with sealant, running lower tire pressures for increased traction, longer tire wear, a very safe and reliable interface between tire and rim.I understand downhill racers will use a tubeless setup for really harsh courses.I have had only two flats since 2004...swear to God.once you air down tubeless to 29 PSI and have your bike easily roll over obstacles like a Jeep you will be pleased.Some tubeless tires are as light as 540 grams,I spend more time riding then ****ing around with tubes.Would :skep:you run tubes on your car tires.check out the difference between wheels and tires designed to be run tubeless and tubeless conversion with conventional rims and tires;)

#6 ·