mtbr member
    Jun 2010

Are these spokes counterfeit, bulk, both?

Hi all, Hope you can help me figure this one out...I'm new to wheelbuilding, and have a box of suspicious spokes.

I recently purchased a box of black DT revolutions @291 mm from a dealer on ebay. The spokes arrived yesterday and there were 75 spokes in the box rather than 72. Fine with me. Maybe he buys them in bulk and repackages them in DT boxes. I don't care.

However, when measured with a spoke ruler they turned out to be 290mm rather than 291.. Ok so he sent the wrong length, I might make them work..

But most strange- When I weighed them with a calibrated scale, they turned out to be 153 g for a bundle of 32. DT rev's are supposed to weigh 137 g for 32. So what's going on? It couldn't possibly be that the black coating is adding 16 g of weight.. thats almost the weight of four spokes...

Are they fake or am I missing something? I don't know what else would explain the weight difference. The DT logo is stamped on the heads of the spokes and I searched around for evidence of counterfeit spokes, but didn't see much. What do you all think? Thanks...

Sorry don't know why the image is rotated by the uploader
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Are these spokes counterfeit, bulk, both?-photo.jpg  

Old school BMXer
    When DT Swiss quotes spoke weight, they usually include a length, such as typically about 260 to 264 mm (the actual spec seems to vary depending on where you look, so take that with a grain of salt). Of course the longer spokes will weigh more.

Oddly, different spoke companies measure their spokes differently. Some go to the inside of the bend, others to the center of the spoke after the bend. Unfortunately, I don't remember what method DT uses.

Regarding the 75 box count (vs the typical 72), I don't know.
    May the air be filled with tires!

mtbpete