mtbr member
    Mar 2012

Small Block 8 vs Slant 6 vs Happy Medium vs anything else?

I'm new to being picky about tires (typically ride with stock tires) and have been interested in these three tires in particular.

Any thoughts on them or other tires that I should be considering? I'm looking for a good all around tire that can corner well, is fast, has excellent control, and is durable. I don't do mud just cause I think that riding in mud will require special mud tires, none of which seem to fit my bill (correct me if I'm mistaken though).

I commute to school daily (5 mi's both ways, I have some specialized crossroads armadillo for that, could those also work well on trails?) and hit the trails after school (If I'm free from studying) and on the weekends.

Also, does the tire width really make that much of a difference? If so, what kind? The only sizes I've ridden with are 1.95 and 2.0. I like the look of the 2.3s and up though. I'm thinking about 2.1s to 2.3s for myself though. Is the only difference in width just that thinner tires mean more speed while wider tires means more control? I see road bikes have super thin tires and the "real" mtbs have wide knobbies.

Sorry for asking so many questions and being such a noob.

Thanks!

mtbr member
    Maxxis Ikon
    Current Ride:
    Ibis Mojo SL-R - Medium - South Beach White
    '11 Specialized Roubaix Compact Rival

LightJunction.com
    Slant Six or Maxxis Ikon. Go for ~2.1" width. Great all-around tires.
    We sell quality bike headlights and flashlights.
    www.LightJunction.com

mtbr member
    I'm running a Small Block 8 on the rear, not very happy with it right now. ready to move on to something different, something with a bit more bite. Good for hardpacked soils but not so for rocky,wet loss stuff.

Short-Change-Hero