Everything-rider

New question here. Same old question: Help with tyre choice, after days of research I ask you!

I know this is one of the most asked questions… but I tried everything and after days of research I am still not 100% sure which tyres to take, but, being a student, I can't take them all.

I am trying to find about 2.2" wide tyres for a 26er. I will mainly ride in wet-ish conditions, often over wet leaves and roots, some muddy passages and gras, but also gravel and, from time to time, also on dry tracks. I will do some recreational trail riding and also training as well as a few races, but not the primary task.

When I bought my last set of tyres I was mainly riding on gravel where my Conti Race King really showed what they had going for them, but in the end my riding style changed a bit and on slippery ground I am not happy with them.

I figured my tyres of choice might be either Conti X-King, Conti Mountain King or Schwalbe Nobby Nic. But the by far hardest decision is which compound to take (I am in the dark about the Schwalbe compounds) or what other version to take (Conti offers 4 versions of every tyre in every size…) so help is really appreciated.

Thank you all for your advice in advance.

Poacher
    Sep 2010
    Geax Gato 2.3 TNT. They are the bomb! I use as at Downieville, and Rockville. No problem. They are superb for 30 rides, then decent as they show wear.

Everything-rider
    How long can you use them? My Conti Race Kings made almost 2 years now with about 6000km.

mtbr member
    Feb 2004
    If you're going with the Conti's, get the Black Chili versions. Worth the extra cost. The Racesport versions of the Mountain King II have gotten good reviews by some of my friends.