Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Sep 2005

Rear hub: Hope Pro II vs. Bulb

I am about to buy a new set of wheels (DT 5.1. rims and DT competition spokes) and I am not certain which rear hub I should go for. The front hub will be the new Hope Pro II 20mm.

I am considering the Hope Bulb or the Hope Pro II. Does anyone have experience with the two hubs. What do you recommend?

Any info is appreciated

mtbr member
    Oct 2004
    i've got the bulbs and love them, but i've no experience with the pro ii hubs.

gimme friction
    I've got several rides on a Pro II rear hub, and I'm perfectly happy with it. 'Cept it's loud as a biznitch, but the Bulb is probably the same way. Actually, I like the noise, but it is rather loud.

From what little I know, the Bulb is just heavier-duty version of the Pro II.

I got the gun-metal gray, which is slightly purple in the sun...cool!

mtbr member
    Bulb has 36 points of engagement per rev. Pro II only has 24 points. Probably won't make a huge difference unless you ratchet a lot to clear your pedals over rough terrain or do a lot of pedal kicks to hop stuff on the trail.

The Pro II is lighter at around 300 g or so while the Bulb is a fairly average weight around 375 g IIRC. But it was built for more DH / FR abuse allegedly. I went with the Bulb in the end for more enagement and beef over weight shavings. I'm sure either would be fine for all-mountain.

Oh - and a few places like PricePoint still have inventory on the Bulb at clearance prices. Good deals to be had!

melon farmer
    The Bulbs also have a Ti cassette body, while the Pro IIs have a steel cassette body.

Despite this, the Pro IIs are still substantially lighter (as noted by earlier posts)..

mtbr member
    Isn't the Pro II cassette body made of aluminum alloy?

(meant as a repy to marcu's post...)

Feeding your addiction
    Quote Originally Posted by AZ-X
    Isn't the Pro II cassette body made of aluminum alloy?

(meant as a repy to marcu's post...)