Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Apr 2013

Rear Hope Pro 2 hub thru-axle conversion

Just got a new frame and I'm looking to convert my Hope Pro 2 rear hub from QR to thru-axle.

Just trying to figure out if this is the right conversion kit, and which option I should choose, X12 or 12mm:
    wiggle.com | Hope Pro 2 Evo MTB Rear Wheel Axle Conversion Kit | Hub Spares

I'm new to the thru-axle word and busted out the calipers. The thru-axle diameter was pretty much at 12mm, but what is X12?

Also, the only conversion kits I could find had to be shipped from England, so that the shipping cost is pricey.

Any other gotchas or things I'm missing?

Thanks!

Unfit Norwegian
    I guess the "12mm thru kit" is 135x12mm. (There is a 150x12mm kit available as well) The X12 is 142x12.

("X12" is Syntace's name for that standard/their invention.)

You need to find out what spacing the rear dropouts in your frame has.

MTB B'dos
    When you "Broke out the calipers" did you also happen to measure the current slotted end caps that "drop into" the dropouts? I'm assuming not and since I'm feeling a nice guy I'm gona save you some time and money. You need the 10mm option end caps, not the 12mm if you have standard slotted drop outs. Would help if you listed the bike it was going on, but I think I'm safe in assuming it has 10mm slotted dropouts. X12 would be the end caps for the Syntace 12mm standard, which is different from standard 12mm bolt on drop outs.
    One day your life will flash before your eyes, will it be worth watching??
    MTB Barbados
    My Phantom pics

Drinkin' the 29er KoolAid
    Do you have Pro 2 or Pro 2 Evo hubs? The Evo part is really important it you are looking at those replacement end caps. The older pre-Evo Pro 2 needs different parts as I believe the axle has to be replaced if going from a QR hub.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by countgrover View Post