Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Sep 2005

Rant: Converting ZTR Arch EX to tubeless

Hi,

I must apologise in advance for the rant, but I have to let my frustration out.

A couple of years ago, I decided to treat myself to some nice wheels. I went for Chris King Hub with ZTR Arch EX hoops. The wheels are really nice. Somewhat light and stiff, nothing wrong with them, unless you actually want to mount a tire on them.

I have been riding for 7 years on a variety of wheels and I have never seen wheels that are so hard to mount tires on. I have always been able to mount tires with plastic levers, but on the Arch EX, I have to use metal levers in order to get the tires over the rim. And I am not talking, one specific tire, I am talking a variety of tires, from Contiental, Schwalbe and Maxxis. Every single one of them has given me grief to mount. Once it is on, they need to be pumped to 55psi in order for them to properly sit.
    As you can imagine, using metal tire levers, I have pinched a number of tubes while trying to mount the tires, so last night I decided to convert them to tubeless using Stan's system.

I have been running Stan's for over 4 years and only once have I had a tire that I couldn't seal. Considering that the rims are Stan's and that the system is Stan's as well, I thought I was on for an easy one... Boy was I wrong.... I wrestle with the rims strip to keep it in place as I was trying to mount the tires. Most times, it would move in the process and get pinched between the rim and the tire beads.
    Something that should have taken 30 minutes tops to do, turned into an almost 3 hours endeavour with plenty of cursing. I ended up getting it done, but it shouldn't have been this hard. I am seriously considering throwing them out and buying some new rims that are easier to mount tires on and to convert.

End of rant.

Am I the only one with this problem? I know they are super popular, so maybe it is something I am doing wrong.
    Thanks a lot,