Page 1 of 11 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Thread: NOX Composites?

There's always next year.

NOX Composites?

Greetings--

I've been looking around at a wheelset upgrade for my XC ride. I came across an ad this morning (on MTBR) for Nox Composites. Looking around on their website, their rims looked like they could be a nice new options for carbon wheels/rims. (disclaimer-- I am not a wheel expert in the slightest!)

They look to be a very new company, so I wasn't shocked when google just came up with their own website, and nothing else. I sent them an email this afternoon, and hope to hear back from them soon.

Anybody have thoughts on their rim designs?

NOX Composites?-mainpic4_0.jpg

mtbr member
    Jun 2013
    Hey padrefan1982,

Hope we answered your recent questions, let me know if you have any more!

We are a pretty new company - we released our first carbon rim about a month ago, the XCR-29. This rim has been in development for a year and we've been prototyping and testing for about 8 months. The XCR-29 is unique in that it is very wide for an XC rim (23mm internal) and is asymmetric (2.4mm offset flip/flop design so the same rim can be used front or rear). We're big believers in asymmetrical rims and we have some stuff on our website explaining why they build into better wheels. Production rim weights are right around 385g.

Our rims are built with a unique mixture of 3K weave and unidirectional Toray prepreg fiber. We are wrapping the 3K weave around the bead lip to reinforce this area to rim strikes and also using the 3K weave to support drill holes. We also designed our rims specifically to be run tubeless with normal or "tubeless-ready" tires. No thick/heavy tape or rubber rim strips required.