mtbr member
    Apr 2017

Need help finding the right 29er tires

I purchased a used Giant anthem x-29 last year and over all I love the bike. It just wants to go go go. I am new to 29 inch tires (old bike had 26) and I'm having real difficulty cornering, tires seem to want to slide out on any gravely, sandy, rooty terrain and shoot rocks out their side any chance they get. Happens at any PSI. Bike came with tubeless Clement FRJ, 29x2.25 on Stans Crest rims and they just seem to stink when cornering.

I'm on the east cost so most of my cross country riding involves rooty and gravely terrain with some mud thrown in.
    I thinking I might want to try wider 2.3 tires.
    I just want to feel like the bike is not going slide out from under me at any turn.

Any thoughts?

I'm looking at MAXXIS Aspen 29X2.25 EXO/TR Tires

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    I thought Aspen is a race type tire and I would not choose that style if you're after more control.

When I first moved to riding 29r I had to think about getting the tires on their edges and good riding technique. Light hands, heavy feet and getting the tires on edges is vital. Ride the bike like you carve skis.

As a long time Maxxis fan I ended up loving Bontrager SE4 in front and SE3 in back for faster but lots of control riding and SE4 for both if I need the rear climbing and braking traction. I choose SE over XR because they survive greased sharp rocks better. They are a very nice supple and light for heavier duty tire. They are not as square as some Maxxis tires I like but sure work for all types of riding.

You might need to get more comfy with tires moving under you too. Hurry and get a fat bike and start riding on snow to help that.

No matter what I would not be looking at narrow racy tires at same time you have more control in mind.