mtbr member
    Jul 2004

Are my Tioga Factory XC 1.95's really that bad?

Newbie MTBr here. I replaced my first tube today, after getting a puncture off some thorn brush about 1/4" long. Replaced the rear tube, and went off for a ride, avoiding the area where I thought I picked up the thorns.

Coming back, both my tubes are punctured (same type of thorn), and it seems like the tires really shouldn't be this bad. Of course I am new to all this and don't really know what to expect.

Have any advice for me? Do I put some sealant in the tires? Do I change the tires? (Currently on Alex Y2000 rims) Get a thorn resistant tube? Does that add too much weight?

Thanks for any help you can provide!

Nouveau Retrogrouch SuperModerator
    Quote Originally Posted by jumpmonger23
    Newbie MTBr here. I replaced my first tube today, after getting a puncture off some thorn brush about 1/4" long. Replaced the rear tube, and went off for a ride, avoiding the area where I thought I picked up the thorns.

Coming back, both my tubes are punctured (same type of thorn), and it seems like the tires really shouldn't be this bad. Of course I am new to all this and don't really know what to expect.

Have any advice for me? Do I put some sealant in the tires? Do I change the tires? (Currently on Alex Y2000 rims) Get a thorn resistant tube? Does that add too much weight?

Thanks for any help you can provide!
    1/4" thorns are going to puncture almost any tire. If you must ride in thorn areas use sealant (like Slime) in your tubes.

When you get a flat you need to check your tires for thorns and remove them before replacing the tubes. Your flats in the 2nd ride may have been caused by thorns from your first ride.
    mtbtires.com
    The trouble with common sense is it is no longer common

Young, Shawn Young