mtbr member
    Aug 2015

Maxxis Minion DHF 2.5 vs 2.6

Anyone have any time on both of these tires? Do they handle the same?

I've been running the DHF on 35mm inner rims for about 6 months. Been an awesome tire but now the side knobs are completely chewed up and I somehow managed to knock the casing out of true so it has a wobble. Just wondering how these 2 compare...

mtbr member
    2.6 is a lot lighter.

mtbr member
    Oct 2011
    Some of the 2.6 are lighter than some of the 2.5. Others not so much.

If you want a Minion DHF with a wide trail (WT) casing that is optimized for 35mm inner width rims, you are limited to 2.5, at least for a 27.5 wheel.

Minion DHF | Maxxis Tires USA

mtbr member
    What are you talking about wilson?

Bicycle, Mountain, Minion DHF¬*

FM
    mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by grizfish View Post
    If you want a Minion DHF with a wide trail (WT) casing that is optimized for 35mm inner width rims, you are limited to 2.5, at least for a 27.5 wheel.
    I'd think it's safe to assume the 2.6 is designed with wider rims in mind. That'd be an awfully big tire to run on a narrow rim. I just put one on my LB 32/38 rims and the profile looks fine.

mtbr member
    Sep 2007
    I've tried both and the handle the same IMO. The 27.5x2.6WT are wider looking on my Ibis 741s than the 2.5WTs. 2.6 Reckons on the back and the combo has been killer so far in CA.

mtbr santa cruz member
    Nov 2005
    The side knobs on the 2.6 are much bigger.

Got rocks?
    Supposed to have a higher volume to the 2.6vs2.5

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

mtbr member
    Dec 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by Duffman1976 View Post

I've been running the DHF on 35mm inner rims for about 6 months. Been an awesome tire but now the side knobs are completely chewed up and I somehow managed to knock the casing out of true so it has a wobble. Just wondering how these 2 compare...