Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

How do I take out the cartridge bearing from my rear hub (Coda Expert)?

23K views 18 replies 6 participants last post by  rhumphryes 
#1 ·
I have a Cannondale F900SX equipped with the Coda Expert cartridge bearing rear hub, pretty old bike. I feel that the rear hub is not that smooth so I am trying to change out the bearings.

I took off the brake rotor, the cassette and all the rubber seals. I read someone saying to tap from the non-drive side. I used a rubber mallet and pounded on the non-drive side, no luck. Neither bearings budged. Now what? How to take off the freehub? How to take out the cartridge bearings? Below are a bunch of photos. Please advise. Thanks!

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
I have no knowledge of that particular hub but I've stripped lots of Asian sourced hubs in general and their methods of construction are always quite similar. They have two main methods of cassette carrier retention.

Remove the cassette carrier. This one appears to me that it should just pull off. Try just grabbing it and pulling on it. If it pops off there will be a washer between it and the hub's inner DS bearing so look out for it. If it doesn't pull off try re-installing the cassette and using it to pull on. Then the axle should tap out (or pound out depending on the fit tolerance) from the DS pushing the NDS bearing with it as the axle will have an inner collar on it. Then tap out the DS hub bearing from the NDS with a drift punch and hammer. Yes - always use a rubber mallet for all hammering on the ends of the axle.

Re-install new bearings by tapping on correctly sized socket wrenches that fit the OD of the bearings. Or use an arbor press if you're lucky enough to have one. I have made a "hub box" that I use to support the hub while doing the tapping.