Super Clyde

Heavy duty wheels?

I posted this over in the Clydesdale Forum, and I thought I'd post it here to for a wider audience. I apologize if I shouldn't have posted in both. I'm 6 ft. and 360lbs. I think I need a heavier duty wheel than what I have now. Right now I have a Campy Stentho wheelset with Deore hubs and Conti Town & Country tires running about 60 psi. I don't know all the specifics, like what spokes it has, but I do know they were hand built in 1994 by a friend. When I started riding on them I was only about 225lbs, and rode mostly single track. I've recently picked riding back up as cross training along with running. Now the rear wheel won't stay true, and I feel like I'm getting a lot of flex when turning, carrying pretty decent speed. I ride exclusively on the road, and am only at about 4-6 miles. Once I lose more weight I plan on finding so off road trails, but will probably stick to easy single track. My budget is only about $300 so I know I am fairly limited. I'm planning on upgrading to disc brakes at the same time, so they need to be 6 bolt compatible. Thanks!

Sent from a telecommunication device with a touch screen keyboard.

mtbr member
    Jun 2006
    I explain to people how to build strong wheels here Zerodish's Blog | Just another WordPress.com site and here Flickr: Charles Ramsey's Photostream What you need is a six bolt Shimano hub the cheapest will work silver with 36 holes. Then remove the 9 cog freehub and replace it with a 7 cog freehub and remove as much dish as you are able. Also replace the hollow axle with a solid one. A Araya VP 20 a Weinmann 519 or 520 or no name copies rim. Use Wheelsmith 13 gauge Sapim 13 gauge or Pillar 2.2mm spokes. Hub $40 rim $25 spokes $30 axle $10 freehub find a used one labor $30 total $135. Also look for the 6 cogs on single speed hubs for something a bit more expensive. 6 cogs on a SS hub -- best solution?
    "Dish is illogical." Spoke of Vulcan.

mtbr member