Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Paste eater

Hans Damf Review. Clear cut. Least favorite tire.

The cliff notes: I really dislike this tire in almost every way.

Now the full dilly. I'm a software developer so first some specs.

Me: 33yo advanced rider. Talented in technical terrain. Average climber compared to other advanced like riders in my area.
    Bike: Santa Cruz Bronson.
    Tires: 2.35 Pacestar rear 2.35 Trailstar rear.
    Some tires i like in loose order: Minion, Trail King, Ardent, Advantage, Rampage
    Beer: IPA. Nothing wheat-like or belgian.

I had high high hopes for these ties. People really dig these things and for the flipping price they should be freaking orgasmic. The reality was from day one I never really liked them. Prior to these I had a 2.4/2.2 Conti trail Kings. The 2.4 is massive and sticky.

I live on the Front Range. We have a whole lot of rocks. Much of it is Pikes peak granite often loose, sometimes sharp and rubbly. Sometimes big and slabby. We also have some fast buff stuff. The HD just never felt grounded. I thought at first I was just not used to them however I still don't trust them. They've gotten worse actually (more on that in a minute). Never felt like I knew when they were going to let go in the loose corners and didn't hang on to off camber rocks like the contis did.

Sadly, It get's worse...

Then the side knobs started to rip off making them even more unstable.

Then I put a hole in the front tire that stans wouldn't.

Then I gashed the rear tire sidewall.

Durability is not good. I'd say tread wear is low average at best. To be fair, nothing lasts long around here. I'm pretty "whatever" on tread wear but would like it if those knobs I use to corner would stay on. The hole and sidewall gash could have been bad luck I guess.The pictures bellow are after ~550 miles or 3 months. The knob thing started at like 100.

So what do I like? They're light! Oh wait, perhaps that part of the problem? They roll well.