mtbr member

Good replacement for Spec. Fast Trak / Purgatory combo

I'm currently looking for a good replacement from my current tires and needing some advice.

The tires on my old bike were a not so good Maxxis Crossmark 2.1 in the back and a heavy but solid Tioga DH 2.1 in the front. The new bike has Specialized Fast Track in the back and Specialized Purgatory 2.23 in the front.

I've noticed both specialized tires sliding and washing my front out more often than I used to have with my old setup. I don't think it's because the new tires are tubeleess (where I'm a newbie), just plain not good performant tires.

I'm about 220 lb and the terrain I usually ride has a lot of fluor-like dirt and when wet will create a sticky mass that used to saturate the Tioga DH tire design. Smooth, hard and slippery when wet ground are also good part of the usual ride. Rocky volcanic sharp rocks would be the secondary terrain I usually ride.

What would you think about getting a Minion DHF 2.4 on the front and possibly switching the Purgatory to the back? Another option maybe is a High Roller 2.1 in the back (not sure if a 2.35 will fit a Mojo HD) and then getting rid of both Specialized tires.

Additonally, I'd prefer the new tires to be tubeless and, if possible, not messing with trimming or so.

What do you guys you think about it? Any other models that will suit best?

Thanks
    Last edited by Mithrandir; 01-14-2013 at 10:23 PM.

mtbr member
    May 2012
    I've been hearing great things about a maxxis ardent front, ignitor rear. That's the setup I'm going to go with as well.
    I've heard awesome things about the DHF as well

mtbr member
    Oct 2012
    Schwalbe Hans Damph. Expensive to buy into but might work out cheaper on the long run. I don't personally use them but the 200+ guys I know swear by them. They also run them F & R so you can rotate front to back, assuming you have the clearance to do so.