mtbr member
    Mar 2011

Front tire and rear tire size comparison question help?

Hi guys,

Newbie here And have a quick question on Front tire and rear tire size comparison.

I ride a 09 stumpy sworks. Currently tire size setup:

Front: 2.0
    Rear: 2.2

I noticed most people have the front tire size larger than the rear. Should I swipe them? What's the advantage and dis advantage on the size? Pls educated me.

I tried 2.0 front and 2.0 rear but i was losing traction in the rear. After switching to the 2.2 rear, bike feels so much better. What's if I tried 2.2 front and 2.0 rear? Will it feel better?

Pls help. Might be a stupid question but I'm still learning. Thx!

mtbr member
    Jan 2010
    Depends upon the terrian and type of bike you are riding. For XC rides in smooth single track, to rough terrain, most people ride a 1.95 to 2.2 rear and a 2.0 to 2.3 front. All mountain rougn riding, down hill, and racing would all look at different considerations.

For smooth single pack, hard pack with loose over, to moderately rocky terrain, you are generally best suited with 2.0 rear and 2.2 front. However not all tires run true to sizing widths. In addition, you have to keep in mind the reason why people generally run these widths in the first place. For a rear tire, we generally want traction and reasonable wieght in order to allow for better acceleration. A 2.2 tire on the rear has it's pros and cons. Wider tires will give you a larger contact patch and better traction, but will wiegh more than a 2.0 tire, which reduces acceleration. So depending upon the terrian, bike and riding style, you can determine what is best. Also, all 2.2 tires are not the same. different treads, side wall protection and therefore wieght as well. I ride a 2.2 Maxxis Ikon on the rear of my hard tail 29er and a 2.2 Specialized S Works Fast track on the front.