mtbr member
    Jul 2018

New question here. Fitting smaller tires on a plus-bike?

Hello!

Just bought my first trail bike, a used Rocky Mountain Pipeline 770 MSL, and it is so much fun!!! But, since my first bike is a plus bike I wanted to test out what more normal wheel size would feel like. So, I went online and ordered Maxxis Minion DHF 2.5 WT front and a Minion DHR 2.4 WT aft. Found these on sale, and people seem to like them.

But, I just realized that it might drop bottom bracket height too much...

I have read that outer diameter of plus sized wheels are about the size of normal 29'ers. So, would changing tires as I plan just mess up everything??

I am an amateur, and pedal strikes happens all the time with my stock Rekon+ 2.8 tires.... But I am on a learning curve

Since the tires I have ordered are still in the mail (online shopping) I can still return them free of charge. AND, since I work offshore, I am not at home and able to measure the diameter of my stock tires.

So, is the outer diameter of the Minion DHF 2.5 WT and DHR 2.4 WT tires I ordered much smaller than the Rekon+ 2,8 tires fitted on a 27.5 rim (35 mm internal) ? Other aspects I am missing here??

Help much appreciated

mtbpete
    Depending on the knob height the tires could be as much as .4 inches shorter. The biggest negative of a lower bb height is hitting more rocks and roots with the pedals. Give it a try. You may want to increase the shock preload to reduce the sag, but then you won't get as much travel.

mtbr member
    Jan 2014
    You will be fine. Your bike has the bottom bracket about 25mm below the axles (bottom bracket drop).
    That's similar to numerous bikes that come with 2.5" or smaller tires.

mtbr member
    Jun 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by ac1000 View Post
    You will be fine. Your bike has the bottom bracket about 25mm below the axles (bottom bracket drop).
    That's similar to numerous bikes that come with 2.5" or smaller tires.